Administration

Dr. Karim Seghir has an extensive and geographically diverse professional experience. Born in France and raised in Tunisia, Dr. Seghir earned a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics in 1997 from the University of Tunis. He then earned a Master of Science in Mathematical Methods in Economics and Finance and a Ph.D. in Mathematical Economics and Finance from University of Paris 1 Pantheon-Sorbonne in 1998 and 2002, respectively.

Dr. Seghir served as a post-doc researcher at Universidade NOVA in Lisbon from September 2002 to September 2004. He has also served as a visiting professor at Pontificia Universidade Catolica in Rio de Janeiro in 2003 and at Universidad de Chile in 2010. Dr. Seghir served as assistant professor of Economics at the American University of Beirut from September 2004 to September 2006. He was then appointed as assistant professor at the American University in Cairo (AUC). Dr. Seghir was appointed as associate dean for undergraduate studies and administration of the AUC School of Business in June 2011 and then dean in July 2014. As associate dean for undergraduate studies, Dr. Seghir has managed AACSB, EQUIS and AMBA accreditations among other things. As dean, Dr. Seghir has ensured the AACSB and EQUIS re-accreditations of the AUC School of Business, introduced academic and executive education initiatives that touched on strategic areas such as entrepreneurship, family business, international business in the MENA region, retail banking and GoGlobal executive education program. Under the deanship of Dr. Seghir, the School of Business has partnered with the Commercial International Bank (CIB) to launch the "AUC Venture Lab FinTech Accelerator," whose first cycle has started in December 2016. Dean Seghir has also played a pivotal role in enabling the AUC School of Business to bridge the gap between academia and community by engaging strategic stakeholders. During his tenure as Dean, Dr. Seghir significantly increased external funds and research grants and enhanced the quality and the volume of research at the school. 

Dr. Seghir has served as a panelist in various regional and international events including AACSB, EFMD, PRME, Economic Research Forum and the World Bank. He also served as Peer Review Team member for AACSB and EQUIS accreditation visits in the Arab region and beyond. In January 2017, Dr. Seghir has  been appointed as a member of the Advisory Board of Harvard Business Review (HBR) Arabia.

Dr. Seghir’s research interests include mathematical economics, general equilibrium theory, financial markets, credit markets and default. He has published in top-tier journals in Economics such as Games and Economic Behavior, Economic Theory and Journal of Mathematical Economics. He also served as referee for leading academic journals such as Economic Theory and Journal of Mathematical Economics.

Dr. Seghir taught microeconomics, mathematical economics, financial economics, decision under uncertainty and game theory at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Dr. Seghir is passionate about sports, especially squash and soccer; music; poetry and psychology.

Dr. Abdulhaq Basheer Hassan was appointed Vice Chancellor for Advancement & Communication at Ajman University in October 2016. With his training in reputed institutions in the U.K. and experience of working in different milieu, he provides leadership of a consistently high standard across the University. Dr. Hassan works closely with community leaders to enhance the branding & positioning of the university’s image.

Dr. Hassan previously served as the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs & Community Services, Director of Community Service Department and dean of Student Affairs. He led major events at the University including Commencements, Conferences, Global Days, Orientation days, etc. He assisted in maintaining an effective relationship with corporates, friends, companies, and government authorities that are important for AU’s mission & vision.

Dr. Hassan made significant contributions to the social welfare of AU students. He plans events that enhance the recruitment of new students, increases the success of students and helps them reach out the wider to local communities. Through these endeavors, students gain valuable leadership and management skills related to successful communication, team work and time management.

Dr. Assaleh earned a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey in 1993, an M.S. in Electronic Engineering from Monmouth University, New Jersey in 1990, and a B.Sc. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Jordan in 1988.

Dr. Assaleh joined Ajman University (AU) in July 2017 as Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. In this capacity, he oversees the academic operations of the university colleges, the Deanship of Students affairs, the Deanship of Graduate Studies and Research, the Continuing Education Center, the Office of International Affairs, the Innovation Center Ajman (ICA) and the Office of Admissions and Registration.

Before joining AU, Dr. Assaleh was a member of the senior administration at the American University of Sharjah (AUS) responsible for research and graduate studies where he served as interim Vice Provost from 2014 to June 2017 and Director of Graduate Studies from 2011 to 2014.  He was also a professor at the department of electrical engineering where he taught courses in the areas of signal processing and pattern recognition. His research interests include bio-signal processing, biometrics, speech and image processing, and pattern recognition.

Prior to joining AUS Dr. Assaleh worked as a Research Professor at the CAIP Center of Rutgers University, New Jersey from 1993 to 1994. He then had a career in industry from 1994 through 2002 as a Senior Staff Engineer with Motorola in Phoenix, Arizona, and as an Engineering Group Leader with Rockwell Semiconductor Systems (Conexant/Skyworks) in Newport Beach, California.

Dr. Assaleh holds 11 US patents and has published over 120 articles in signal/image processing and pattern recognition and their applications. He has served on the organization committees of several international conferences including ISSPA, ICCSPA, MECBME and ISMA. He has also served as a guest editor for several special issues of journals. Dr. Assaleh is a senior member of the IEEE. A full record of his publications and citations can be found in his google scholar profile: http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=nq7m6zcAAAAJ&hl=en 

Mr. Rabi Alkhofash was appointed as Chief Operating Officer in March, 2017. He is working on developing and implementing effective strategic plans to identify potential operational and business opportunities that aim at providing high-quality supporting services to all members of AU Community.

Mr. Alkhofash has joined Ajman University in 2009 as a Scholarship and Budget Supervisor, and then worked up the hierarchy to Finance Manager (2011), and Senior Finance Manager (2013). He also served as a part-time lecturer of accounting courses in the College of Business Administration. Before joining AU, he served as Senior Management Accountant for 2 years at Juma Al-Majid Establishment in Dubai, UAE (2007 to 2009), in addition to several earlier positions at different organizations in the fields of accounting and finance. 

In his capacity as C.O.O, Mr. Alkhofash is leading a team of professionals who collaborate multifunctional knowledge and expertise to provide AU Community with high-quality supporting services in the fields of finance, budgeting, information technology, human resources, procurement, infrastructure/facility management, and medical services. 

Mr. Alkhofash has previously served AU throughout a number of successful contributions, including the establishment of an effective planning and budgeting model, provision of support to secure the accreditation/re-accreditation of a number of academic programs, participation in several system implementation projects, development of business plans, feasibility studies, corporate valuations, and other high-end financial and administrative consultancy projects, most of which with the big-4 companies.

Mr. Alkhofash holds a Bachelor of Accounting and a Master of Business Administration (MBA) both from An-Najah National University, Palestine (2002 and 2005 respectively).  He also obtained the Certified Management Accountant (CMA) certificate (2011) from the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA, USA) and an online certificate in International Financial Reporting Standards (2011) from the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA, UK).

Mr. Alkhofash is passionate about adopting innovative solutions and integrating the smart technology to facilitate the work cycle and maintain the highest level of automated processes and services across different operational aspects of work. 

Nancy Stearns Bercaw has worked in higher education for more than two decades and in many leadership roles. Before joining AU as Chief of Staff, Nancy served in high-level communications at the University of Vermont's College of Medicine in the United States. From 2014-2015, she worked as the content coordinator for Khalifa University in Abu Dhabi.

Nancy also is a writer and has made contributions to publications around the world, including the New York Times, the Huffington Post, the Korea Herald, U.S. News & World Report, and Abu Dhabi's Tempo Magazine. She is the author of a memoir, “Brain in a Jar: A Daughter’s Journey through Her Father’s Memory," about her neurologist father's battle with Alzheimer's disease.

She is also the author of “Dryland” about her experiences in the UAE and around the world. In 2009, Nancy was inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame at the University of South Florida (USF) where she was a National Champion swimmer and qualified for the Olympic Trials. She graduated from USF with a degree in English Education and has taught in Kenya and South Korea.

القيادة

يمتلك الدكتور كريم الصغير تجربة مهنية واسعة ومتنوعة جغرافيا. وقد ولد في فرنسا، وترعرع في تونس، حيث حصل هناك على إجازة العلوم في الرياضيات من جامعة تونس سنة 2007. ثم انتقل إلى فرنسا، حيث تخرج من جامعة باريس 1 بانثيون السوربون بماجستير العلوم في المناهج الرياضية في الاقتصاد والمالية وشهادة الدكتوراه في الاقتصاد والمالية الرياضيين في 1998 و2002 على التوالي.
وعمل الدكتور الصغير باحثا في مرحلة ما بعد الدكتوراه بجامعة نوفا في لشبونة من سبتمبر 2002 إلى سبتمبر 2004. كما عمل أستاذا زائرا في الجامعة الكاثوليكية في ريو دي جانيرو عام 2003، وجامعة الشيلي عام 2010. وشغل منصب أستاذ مساعد في مادة علم الاقتصاد في الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت من سبتمبر 2004 إلى سبتمبر 2006، ثم انتقل إلى الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة حيث عمل أستاذا مساعدا. وفي يونيو 2011، عُيّن الدكتور الصغير عميدا مشاركا للدراسات الجامعية والإدارة في كلية الإدارة التابعة للجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة، ثم عميدا للكلية نفسها في يوليو 2014. وقد تمكن في منصبه عميدا مشاركا للدراسات الجامعية والإدارة من الحصول على ثلاثة اعتمادات دولية مرموقة لكليته، وهي AACSB، وEQUIS وAMBA. وفي منصبه عميدا للكلية، تمكن الدكتور كريم من تجديد اعتماد AACSB وEQUIS، وأطلق مبادرات أكاديمية وتنفيذية تهم مجالات استراتيجية مثل ريادة الأعمال، والنشاط التجاري العائلي، والأعمال الدولية، في منطقة شمال أفريقيا والشرق الأوسط، ومصارف التجزئة، والبرنامج التعليمي التنفيذي GoGlobal. وبقيادة الدكتور الصغير، دخلت كلية الإدارة في شراكة مع البنك التجاري الدولي لإطلاق مبادرة "مسرّع مشاريع التكنولوجيا المالية"، التي بدأت دورتها الأولى في ديسمبر 2016. كما لعب الدكتور الصغير دورا حيويا في تمكين كلية الإدارة من جسر الهوة بين الوسط الأكاديمي والمجتمع من خلال إشراك أصحاب المصلحة الاستراتيجيين. وقد تمكن الدكتور الصغير على رأس عمادة الكلية من توسيع قاعدة المساهمات الخارجية والمنح البحثية، وتحسين جودة البحوث وزيادتها.
واختير الدكتور كريم عضوا في لجان العديد من الفعاليات الإقليمية والدولية المعنية بتطوير برامج تدريس الإدارة والأعمال وعلى رأسها AACSB، وEFMD، وPRME، وكذا منتدى البحوث الاقتصادية والبنك الدولي. كما شارك ضمن فرق التقييم الخارجي لحساب لجان الاعتماد الدولي في AACSB وEQUIS لفائدة العديد من مؤسسات التعليم العالي في دول المنطقة والعالم. وفي يناير 2017، عُيّن الدكتور الصغير عضوا في المجلس الاستشاري لمجلة هارفارد بزنس ريفيو العربية.
ويركز النشاط البحثي للدكتور كريم الصغير على الاقتصاد الرياضي، ونظرية التوازن العام، والأسواق المالية، وأسواق الائتمان. ونشرت بحوثه في مجلات متخصصة مرموقة مثل مجلةGames and Economic Behavior، ومجلة Economic Theory وJournal of Mathematical Economics. كما عمل محكما في عدد من الدوريات البارزة من قبيل Economic Theory وJournal of Mathematical Economics.
وقد درّس الدكتور الصغير الاقتصاد الجزئي، والاقتصاد الرياضي، والاقتصاد المالي، واتخاذ القرار في ظل عدم اليقين، ونظرية التقارع، سواء في المرحلة الجامعية أو العليا. وهو من هواة الرياضة، لاسيما السكواش وكرة القدم، ومن عشاق الموسيقى والشعر وعلم النفس.

الدكتور خالد الصالح حاصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الهندسة الكهربائية من جامعة روتجيرز في ولاية نيوجيرسي سنة 1993، وماجستير الهندسة الكهربائية من جامعة مونماوث، نيوجيرسي، سنة 1990، وبكالوريوس العلوم في الهندسة الكهربائية من جامعة الأردن سنة 1988.

التحق الدكتور الصالح بجامعة عجمان عام 2017 في منصب نائب مدير الجامعة للشؤون الأكاديمية، حيث يشرف على جميع الأمور والعمليات الأكاديمية الخاصة بالكليات، وعمادة شؤون الطلبة، وعمادة الدراسات العليا والبحث العلمي، ومركز التعليم المستمر، ومكتب العلاقات الدولية، ومركز جامعة عجمان للابتكار، وإدارة القبول والتسجيل.

وقبل التحاقه بجامعة عجمان، شغل الدكتور صالح عدة مناصب قيادية في الجامعة الأمريكية في الشارقة، حيث عمل نائبا لمدير الجامعة للبحوث والدراسات العليا بالإنابة من 2014 إلى 2017، ومديرا للدراسات العليا من 2011 إلى 2014. كما عمل أستاذا في قسم الهندسة الكهربائية، حيث درّس مساقات في مجالات معالجة الإشارات والتعرف على الأنماط. وتشمل مجالاته البحثية معالجة الإشارات الأحيائية، والقياسات الأحيائية، ومعالجة الصوت والصورة، والتعرف على الأنماط.

وقبل تجربته مع الجامعة الأمريكية في الشارقة، عمل الدكتور الصالح أستاذا باحثا في مركز CAIP في جامعة روتجيرز من 1993 إلى 1994. ثم انتقل إلى العمل في القطاع الصناعي من 1994 إلى 2002 حيث شغل منصب مهندس أول في شركة موتورولا، في فونيكس، أريزونا، وقائد فريق مهندسين لدى شركة روكويل لأنظمة أشباه الموصلات، في نيوبورت بيتش، كاليفورنيا.

ولدى الدكتور الصالح 11 براءة اختراع مسجلة في الولايات المتحدة، وأكثر من 120 مقالا منشورا في مجالات معالجة الإشارات والصور، والتعرف على الأنماط وتطبيقاتها. وشارك في العديد من اللجان التنظيمية لمؤتمرات دولية مرموقة منها ISSPA و ICCSPAوMECBME وISMA. كما شارك أيضا محررا زائرا لأعداد خاصة في جملة من الدوريات والمجلات العلمية. والسيد خالد الصالح عضو بارز في الجمعية الدولية للمهندسين الكهربائيين والإلكترونيين - IEEE. ويمكن الاطلاع على سجل إصداراته على صفحته الخاصة في Google Scholar: http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=nq7m6zcAAAAJ&hl=en

عين السيد ربيع الخفش مدير عمليات في مارس 2017، وهو يعمل على إعداد وتنفيذ خطط استراتيجية فعالة لتحديد فرص الأعمال والتطوير الممكنة، التي تروم تحقيق خدمات دعم عالية الجودة لجميع منتسبي جامعة عجمان.
والتحق السيد ربيع الخفش بجامعة عجمان سنة 2009 في منصب مسؤول الموازنة والمنح، وتدرج في عمله إلى أن عيّن مديرا ماليا سنة 2011، ثم مديرا ماليا أولا سنة 2013. كما عمل أيضا محاضرا بدوام جزئي في مساق المحاسبة في كلية إدارة الأعمال بجامعة عجمان. وقبل التحاقه بالجامعة، عمل محاسبا إداريا أولا لسنتين لدى مجموعة جمعة الماجد في دبي.

وبصفته مدير العمليات، يقود السيد الخفش فريقا من المهنيين الذين يسخرون معارفهم خبراتهم لتقديم أفضل الخدمات المساندة لجميع منتسبي الجامعة في مجالات الإدارة المالية والميزانية، وتكنولوجيا المعلومات، والموارد البشرية، والمشتريات، وإدارة المرافق، والخدمات الطبية.

وخلال عمله في جامعة عجمان، حقق السيد الخفش عددا من المساهمات الناجحة، بما فيها إنشاء نظام فعال للتخطيط والميزانية، وتقديم الدعم الفعال في جهود الاعتماد وإعادة الاعتماد لجملة من البرامج الأكاديمية. وشارك في تنفيذ عدد من المشاريع البرمجية، وخطط الأعمال، ودراسات الجدوى، وغيرها من المشاريع الاستشارية، لاسيما مع كبرى شركات التدقيق المالي العالمية.

ويحمل السيد ربيع الخفش ماجستير في إدارة الأعمال مع مرتبة الشرف، وبكالوريوس في المحاسبة من جامعة النجاح الوطنية في فلسطين. كما حصل على شهادة المحاسبين الإداريين المعتمدين (CMA) الصادرة عن معهد المحاسبين الإداريين (الولايات المتحدة)، وشهادة في المعايير الدولية للتبليغ المالي (IFRS) من جمعية المحاسبين القانونيين المعتمدين (ACCA، المملكة المتحدة).

والسيد الخفش من أنصار الحلول المبتكرة وتبني التكنولوجيا الذكية لتسهيل العمليات التشغيلية واعتماد أعلى مستوى من الخدمات والعمليات الآلية.

عملت نانسي ستيرنس بيركاو في مجال التعليم العالي لأكثر من عقدين وشغلت العديد من الأدوار القيادية. وقبل انضمامها إلى جامعة عجمان كمساعدة لمدير الجامعة، عملت نانسي في الاتصالات رفيعة المستوى في كلية الطب بجامعة فيرمونت في الولايات المتحدة. وبدأت تجربتها في دولة الإمارات خلال العام الجامعي 2014-2015، حيث شغلت منصب منسقة محتوى في جامعة خليفة في أبوظبي.

وتعمل نانسي أيضا كاتبة ولها مساهمات في مجموعة من الإصدارات من جميع أنحاء العالم، بما في ذلك نيويورك تايمز، وهافينغتون بوست، وكوريا هيرالد، ويو إس نيوز، ووورلد ريبورت، ومجلة تيمبو - أبو ظبي. ولها أيضا مذكرات منشورة بعنوان "الدماغ في جرة: رحلة ابنة من خلال ذاكرة والدها"، التي تتحدث فيها عن صراع أبيها مع مرض الزهايمر. كما لها مذكرات أخرى بعنوان "الأرض الجافة"، التي تحكي فيها تجاربها في الإمارات وفي دولة عديدة عبر العالم.

عام 2009، أدرج اسمها ضمن قائمة المشاهير الرياضيين في جامعة جنوب فلوريدا، حيث كانت بطلة وطنية في السباحة وتأهلت للإقصاءات الأولمبية. وتخرجت نانسي من جامعة جنوب فلوريدا بشهادة في التربية الإنجليزية ودرّست في كينيا وكوريا الجنوبية.