Teaching and Learning Center

Mission

The center was established in the fall of academic year 2019/2020. Our mission for Ajman University (AU) is to strive for excellence in teaching and learning; we support inspired and innovative pedagogy within the classroom and beyond, in research, scholarship, and creative activity, with the goal of enhancing teaching and student learning. TLC collaborates with colleges and departments to provide evidence-based and inclusive learning and teaching practices, educational programs and training to their faculty, instructors and teaching assistants.

Who are we?

We are a newly founded center, which collaborates with in-house and external professionals with expertise in educational development, instructional design, learning technology, educational media, voice and presentation skills, applied research in teaching and learning. Our ultimate goal is to achieve highest levels of teaching and learning skills for our faculty and staff members reaching international standards.

Teaching & Learning Goals of the TLC
  • Fostering an institutional culture that values and celebrates teaching and learning by promoting an environment that embraces experimentation, innovation and risk-taking.
  • Nurturing a teaching community whose members feel connected and supported in their work.
  • Building the capacity of individuals and academic units to excel in their teaching roles by collaborating with clients and partners to implement teaching and learning–related solutions.
  • Develop and inspire the next educators (our current students) to be excellent teachers, communicators, and leaders.
  • Ensure the quality of educational experience for all of our students by vigorously supporting the development and widespread use of teaching expertise and learner-centered approaches in teaching.
  • The Center provides tools for evaluating teaching practices from multiple viewpoints, including the voices of the students on assessment of teaching and learning from various courses.
  • We value learning environments in which diverse students and instructors can excel and we recognize and support individual differences among learners.
The Teaching & Learning Center Professional Development Series

The Teaching & Learning Center (TLC) is offering a professional development series for faculty, staff, and teaching assistants. The TLC is invested in maximizing the excellence of the teaching and learning mission at AU. The professional development series will provide experiences, information, resources, and networking to help faculty, staff, and teaching assistants improve their craft in teaching, mentoring, and advising in many ways.

The TLC will offer a series of events throughout the academic year that delve into many domains of teaching and learning. These events will provide valuable experiences for those who attend in person. The events will be cataloged on a Canvas page for those who cannot attend in person.

The TLC’s Advisory Committee (TLC-AC)

An Advisory Committee for the TLC has been formed to help the center achieve its set mission and objectives. The membership of the TLC-AC includes faculty members representatives from all Colleges. In addition to few invited external members.

مركز التعلّم والتدريس

الرسالة

تأسس مركز التعلّم والتدريس في الفصل الخريفي من العام الدراسي 2019/2020 بهدف تحقيق التميز في التعلّم والتدريس. يسعى المركز إلى تعزيز منهجية تعليم ملهمة ومبتكرة داخل الصفوف وخارجها، في مجال البحث والمنح الدراسية والنشاط الإبداعي من أجل خلق بيئة تعليمية متميزة. يتعاون المركز مع كافة الكليات والأقسام في الجامعة لتوفير ممارسات التعلّم والتدريس الشاملة والقائمة على الأدلة بالإضافة إلى طرح البرامج التعليمية والقيام بتدريبات مختلفة لأعضاء الهيئة التدريسية.

من نحن

يضم المركز مجموعة من المهنيين من داخل وخارج الجامعة، الذين يمتلكون خبرة في في التطوير والتصميم التعليمي، وتكنولوجيا التعلّم، والإعلام التعليمي، ومهارات الصوت والعرض، بالإضافة إلى البحوث التطبيقية في التدريس والتعلّم. ونسعى إلى دعم الهيئة التدريسية والموظفين من أجل تحقيق أعلى مستويات التدريس ومهارات التعلّم التي تتماشى مع المعايير الدولية.

الأهداف
  • تعزيز ثقافة مؤسسية تقدّر التدريس والتعلّم من خلال تعزيز بيئة حاضنة للتجارب والابتكار والمجازفات.

  • خلق مجتمع تعليمي يتواصل فيه كافة المنتسبون بطريقة فعالة ويتلقون الدعم اللازم في عملهم.

  • بناء قدرات الأفراد والوحدات الأكاديمية بهدف ليتمكنوا من القيام بمهامهم بتفوّق من خلال التعاون مع مختلف العملاء والشركاء لتطبيق الحلول المتعلقة بالتدريس والتعلّم.

  • تطوير وإلهام طلبتنا الحاليين ليصبحوا معلّمين ومرشدين وقادة متميّزين في المستقبل.

  • ضمان جودة الخبرة التعليمية لجميع طلبتنا من خلال دعم تطوير وتوظيف الخبرات التعليمية على نطاق واسع والنهج المُعتمد في التدريس والذي يتمحور حول الطلبة.

  • توفير أدوات لتقييم ممارسات التدريس من وجهات نظر متعددة، بما فيها آراء الطلبة وتقييمهم للتدريس والتعلّم في مختلف المساقات.

  • تعزيز بيئة التعلّم التي تدفع الطلبة والمعلّمين إلى التفوّق وتشجع الفروقات الفردية بين الطلبة.

سلسلة التطوير المهني

يقدّم المركز سلسلة تطوير مهني لأعضاء الهيئة التدريسية والموظفين، كما يعمل بجهد لرفع مستوى التميّز في التدريس والتعلّم في جامعة عجمان. وستوفر سلسلة التطوير المهني الخبرات والمعلومات والموارد وسبل التواصل لمساعدة أعضاء الهيئة التدريسية والموظفين على تحسين أدائهم في التدريس والتوجيه وتقديم المشورة بطرق عديدة. وسيقدّم المركز سلسلة من الفعاليات على مدار العام الدراسي تتناول كافة مجالات التدريس والتعلّم. وستوفر هذه الفعاليات تجارب قيّمة للذين يحضرون شخصيًا. كما سيتم فهرسة الأحداث على صفحة Canvas للذين تعذّر حضورهم.

اللجنة الاستشارية

تشكّلت اللجنة الاستشارية في المركز بهدف مساعدة المركز على تحقيق رسالته وأهدافه المحددة. وهي تضم ممثلين عن الهيئة التدريسية من كافة الكليات، بالإضافة إلى عدد قليل من الأعضاء المدعوين من خارج الجامعة.