Ajman University Excellence Awards 2017

Monday, Nov 20, 2017

Ajman University community got together to uphold, cherish and celebrate those that have positively contributed to the AU success journey and those who have achieved academic distinction amongst their peers. The First AU Excellence Awards 2017 was held at an honors Assembly in Ajman Campus that witnessed the honoring of 382 male and female students for academic achievement and 13 other awards for excellence in 11 categories, along with a dream team.

Dr. Karim Seghir, AU Chancellor emphasized that every member of the University is an important and distinctive element of this prestigious institution, working in tandem to achieve the ambitious goals and enhance the global reputation of AU. He highlighted that, “Our progress towards the strategic goals has been remarkable with many benchmarks already reached” therefore it is imperative to honor those that have been part of this journey towards excellence.

The male and female students were honored for academic distinction whilst the academic members were honored in several categories. Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award went to Dr. Sami Al Qatawneh, Assistant Professor, College of Education and Basic Sciences; Faculty Excellence in Research Award was awarded to Dr. Raghad Hashim, Associate Professor, College of Dentistry and Dr. Mohammed Akmal Chaudhary, Assistant Professor, College of Engineering.  Faculty Excellence in Service Award was bagged by Tazeen Sharif, Lecturer, College of Engineering; Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award was awarded to Dr. Laila Khamis Elsakka, College of Mass Communication and Humanities; the Managerial Excellence Award was given to Inas Abu Sharkh, IT Manager; Administrative Excellence Award was bagged by two members, Amer Khalaili, Senior Accreditation Officer and Riaz Nalakam, Chief Accountant; Support Service Excellence Award, Haitham Elsayed, Service Assistant; Teaching Assistance Excellence Award, Wessam Shebieb, College of Engineering. A special award was bestowed upon the Dream Team to recognize their valuable contribution it was awarded to the ABET Accreditation Committee.

A special honor Alumni Excellence in Engagement Award was bestowed upon Mr. Akram Skaik, Class of 1992, first student to register in the College of Business Administration at AU. His engagement with his alma mater over the years has been nothing short of a bond that lasted well beyond the golden handshake of graduation. He over the past years has always engaged actively and positively with AU community both in the UAE and outside. Graduates as such are the ambassadors of AU image and values.

Au Excellence Award 2017 concluded on a positive and inspiring note when the awarded students lit their candles to answer to the call of AU Chancellor that encourages the students to light the way forward into a bright future with their achievements.